bariatric surgery · gastric bypass · pretty face · weight loss

Just Waiting For A Call…

October 2014
October 2014

So April is here, but no surgery date just yet for me. I did complete my 3 month waiting period in March. I have Aetna insurance and with them I needed to consecutively see a psychologist, a nutritionist, an exercise physiologist, and an M.D. each time I went. Once I got the ok from them I was able to make an initial apt with the Surgeon.

I went to see the surgeon April 3rd. they had a conference room with about 4 of us in there to go over everything that is going to or could happen. Went into detail about each procedure so that we had no surprises. I of course knew everything he was saying already because I have been so excited/anxious about this I think I have read everything known to man. He then took us back individually to go over anything we might have questions about. He also checked out my incisions from my gall bladder surgery to see if a couple could be re-used. Once the apt was over he told me they would be sending the information from the last few months to my insurance company for approval. Once they receive approval they will call me to set up a surgery date.

April 5th I had my last pre-op apt with my nutritionist. I love her! She is super nice and had all my info all organized in a binder with tabs! The ocd in me loves things like that! I am one of those kind of people though where I am going to need to have my post op meal schedule written down and prepped ahead of time or I will not be successful. I am worried about my water intake and getting that accounted for so I don’t dehydrate myself. My stomach will only be the size of a medicine cup to start with! I bought my pre-op meal shakes while I was there that I need to start two weeks prior to surgery and my initial vitamins I will need right away. I can’t say enough nice things about the people that work at Beaumont weight control center. They are some of the most friendly and supportive group of people.

Whenever you ask someone how long it takes for insurance approval you get a huge range of answers anywhere from 10 days to 6 weeks. I did call my insurance yesterday just to see if they could give me an idea and they told me that an approval letter went out that day! That’s was awesome, 1 week to get my paperwork approved! So now I anxiously await a call from the surgeon’s office. In all my excitement when I called the insurance I did not specify whether the approval letter gets sent by mail or electronically.

Confession time! So my guilty pleasure lately has been watching the show Mama June, From Not to Hot! I know very little about that reality show family other than who they are, but I was hoping for some insight to what happens after surgery. Aside from the “drama” that reality shows include I actually like watching her transformation. She has struggles, but manages with her support system to conquer her obesity.

I’d like to think that I have a pretty good support system in place. My husband has been to almost all of my appointments with me which I think helps. I know that eating with my family may be a struggle at first because I will probably not want certain things in the house that they will and they won’t want to kind of things I am able to eat.  I joined a couple bariatric support groups on Facebook but then left soon after. Some of the posts people were putting on there were actually really negative and making me worried about things that as long as I do what I am supposed to then I should be fine.  

Just waiting on the call now…

5 thoughts on “Just Waiting For A Call…

  1. Food is so social. More so than drinking. Most of us were raised to “clean our plate” and never turn down food offered to us by a host, lest we be rude. I’m hopeful you find success and a way to navigate after that doesn’t make you feel obligated to indulge when it’s not necessary. And perhaps your family may find that they get to have certain “treats” when they aren’t at home. It might make them more appreciated.. Just thoughts. I’m sure you’ll be resilient enough to make this work – and you’re family will be a great support system for you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Don’t let the negativity get to you… Ok the reality is some people do experience some “stuff” afterwards but they know so much more now to prevent that from happening and as long as you are handling your stuff pre op and post you will most likely be fine. Any experience in life some will have positive outcomes and some negative.. but letting fear of the negative stop you from doing things (well…don’t jump out of a plane without a parachute lol) means a pretty slow paced life void of progress. Onward…Upward…Forward!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. If there is ANYTHING I can answer or help you with, please ask! My surgery was 8/5/08 and as you know I’ve had my struggles but overall I’d do it again in a heart beat! I’m 1000% in your corner and would love to help in any way I can. Praying for you and excited for the journey you’re about to embark on 😘

    Like

Leave a Reply

